Home      Register      Show Groups      Photos      Videos     

SailingX > Yacht Club > Members / Teams

Notices

Members / Teams Introduction thread

Old 06-14-2012
mr-canada

Default New 26 columbia mk 2 owner

Hi!

I am a total rookie who has always been wanting to get into sailing. I am the proud new owner of a 26 columbia mk 2 with lots of upgrades based in squamish (i live in new west, boat is in squamish).

Just starting to learn and i am more interested in cruising than racing at this point but im happy to learn!

Been blowing my brains out with books have learned a lot. I am getting great instruction from the seller, soon i will be taking her out on my own maybe in a couple of weeks.

Its going to be a great summer!!!
Old 06-14-2012

Default Welcome !

Chris ... you will get all sorts of guidance from the sailing community. Welcome !
Old 06-14-2012

Welcome, consider getting involved with the Squamish Yacht Club, great group of people.
Old 06-14-2012
mr-canada

I certainly will, my boat is moored there. I am partnered on the boat with my cousin who is a member.

Its a really nice place, they have a ton of programs!
Old 06-14-2012

I suggest you go out as crew racing on other peoples boats as much as possible even if you just want to cruise yours.

Pros.
-Experience sailing in all conditions. No wind and toooooo much wind. This is good because you lean the too much wind thing that you might accidentally get caught in one day that no cruiser goes looking for.
-when something breaks its not your boat... Like when you are out in the high wind conditions and a sail rips it doesn't cost you a thing when you're just one of the crew. I do suggest buying the owner a beer though to drown his sorrows.
-you can go learn from a lot of people who each might have a different approach and different setups... The best way to learn.