border
Home      Register      Show Groups      Photos      Videos     

SailingX > Yacht Club > Dock talk

Notices

Dock talk General sailing chat

Old 06-05-2013

Default Custom Tariff PFD

Hello,

I get a massive discount on a spinlock PFD because I am an RYA instructor, I have spoken to them and they are able to send from their NA warehouse which is in the US.

Does anyone know what import duty I will need to pay? I found some documents that said it was 18% and some that said 0% if it came from the US (quite a big difference). Anyone have any experience? Obviously I will have tax on top of that as well.
Old 06-05-2013

My experience shipping boat and bike parts is that you will pay a lot of money to Purolator or Fedex no matter what. If US Post it is about 50/50 you will get hit by duty/brokerage or get nothing, and I have not figured out a way to predict it.
Old 06-05-2013

If you have it shipped here and it is made in the US there should be no Duty. It also used to be that safety equipment was PST exempt - not sure if that is still the case. You will have to pay a minimum of $75 in brokerage to whomever fills out the paper to get it across the border.

I usually ship things to a PO box in Blaine (Canamer Freight) and pick it up myself.
Old 06-05-2013
Supporting Member

I think UPS has one of the better brokerage deals...It used to be $40 on packages less than $500, I think...although you have to let them handle it which sometimes takes for ever...the duty amount will depend on the country of manufacture...

I know there is no duty on marine hardware made from base metals, manufactured in the US but not sure where the spinlock stuff falls...

You could PM "The Dude" here on the board...he works for our local Spinlock distributor...he might be able to work out a similar deal if it is direct from spinlock...
Old 06-05-2013

Caution - if it is shipped from the US, it probably will not have the required TC label.